A brief bio of your label: Who started it? When? First band signed and/or first release?
VICE Records started with the Streets’ first record Original Pirate Material in 2002. The Streets was the beginning of VICE Records.

Where does your label call home? Describe your headquarters.
Our home is in our little corner of Williamsburg on the windiest street in all of New York. Our office used to be much smaller but the family grows faster than I can keep up with everyone’s name. In our building we have people working for the magazine, the DVD and Vice Broadcasting Systems. The Records area is small and cluttered. Right now Melvins/Big Business are playing on the stereo.


Your name? What are your primary duties for the label?
Christen. I write emails and avoid phone calls. On my business card I wanted it to say Computer Wolf because of my love for Guitar Wolf, but they insisted on Digital Manager.

Who are a few of the bands on your roster? Most recent signee.
I am currently very excited about Black Lips. There’s a scene in the Los Valientes Del Mundo Nuevo trailer when Jared is singing and playing bass and this kid is taunting and hitting him. He uses the neck of his bass to push aside his mic, head buts the kid and swings the mic back without ever missing a beat. That is rock and roll. We are also lucky enough to work with 120 Days, Bloc Party, Panthers, Chromeo, Boredoms, Ed Banger and Justice, The Stills and the The Streets. The band I joined the label out of love for was Death From Above 1979 (R.I.P.).

What is the best method for an unsigned band to capture your attention?
Live shows that make me feel alive and blow my face off. Or buy me a drink.

Any upcoming release(s) you’d like to plug?
Black Lips! Los Valientes Del Mundo Nuevo! Boredoms – we just reissued 3 records and will reissue 3 more in February. Panthers! The Trick! So hard and fun. Oh. And this little band we love called Bloc Party.

Check out the VICE mp3 blog for a sheetload of music: click here