Courtesy of Belle and Sebastian dot com:
“Songs For The Young At Heart” is an enchanting side project brought to you by Dave Boulter and Stuart Staples of The Tindersticks. Inspired by memories from their childhood of music from the radio, school room and television, “Songs For The Young At Heart” features the sunny, simple, dark and sad songs from the halcyon days of school holidays and endless summer afternoons. Hand picking a selection of guest vocalists and story tellers, the album includes “Florence’s Sad Song” sung by Belle and Sebastian’s own Stuart Murdoch.

“Songs For The Young At Heart” comes in a limited edition run packaged in hard paged children’s book featuring the tale of “The Lion and Albert” wth illustrations by cult artist Sexton Ming.


1. Theme for the Young At Heart (Stuart Staples)
2. Uncle Sigmund’s Clockwork Storybook (Robert Forster)
3. Florence’s Sad Song (Stuart Murdoch)
4. White Horses (Cerys Matthews)
5. The Lion and Albert (Jarvis Cocker)
6. Robinson Crusoe (The Tindersticks)
7. Hushabye Mountain (Stuart Staples)
8. Morningtown Ride (Suzanne Osbourne)
9. Inch Worm (Kurt Wagner)
10. Mary, Mungo & Midge (The Tindersticks)
11. The Three Sneezes (Martin Wallace)
12. Puff, The Magic Dragon (Bonnie ‘Prince’ billy and Red)
13. Hey, Don’t You Cry (Stuart Staples)

The album was released on V2 / Lucky Dog in the UK, no word on a US release just yet.