Sub Pop Records have announced a new subsidiary of the label, Hardly Art, which will bring Sub Pop’s distribution to smaller bands. The label already has its first band signed, Seattle’s Arthur And Yu. The band’s debut, In Camera, releases June 19.

Photo: Greg Lutze
“Hardly Art will be run on a much smaller, startup level than Sub Pop [is] currently, and it will work on a much more intimate and spontaneous level when it comes to bands and releases,” Moody explains. “So, at the beginning, we’ll be working with mostly unsigned and lesser-known bands. Given that it only involves two people and a much smaller budget, going that route makes sense.”

Arthur And Yu’s debut, according to Moody, is the epitome of why Hardly Art exists. Their Velvet Underground-inspired, experimental rock hit home for the two creators and was exactly the right sound to kick off the new label.

“Arthur And Yu were chosen as the first [band] because we loved their record and wanted to be the ones involved in putting it out,” Moody says. “Jonathan had been wanting to get the label started for a while now, but it really had to wait until we found the right band. They are local to Seattle, wonderful people and incredible musicians, and were really excited about what we were starting as a label. It doesn’t hurt that their upcoming record is fantastic. Overall, there really couldn’t be a better group to start with.”

01. Absurd Heroes Manifesto
02. Come To View (Song For Neil Young)
03. Birds
04. Afterglow
05. Lobby Lights
06. A Thousand Words
07. Lion’s Mouth
08. The Ghost of Old Bull Lee
09. Half Years
10. Black Bear