Album Leaks

The latest in a long line of recent leaks is Maximo Park’s ‘Our Earthly Pleasures’. The album is due in stores April 2nd, so at the very least MP can take some comfort in the fact that the album stayed under wraps this long.

Maximo Park are a 5-piece that started out in Newcastle. Their first album, A Certain Trigger, was released in 2005 to considerable critical acclaim and was even nominated for a Mercury Prize. Like so many bands that year (Bloc Party, The Rakes, The Futureheads, White Rose Movement), the man behind the mixing desk was uber-producer Paul Epworth. The band have managed to retain the frenzied energy of their debut with OEP (produced by Gil Norton), and my guess is fans will be more than pleased with this effort.

1)”Girls Who Play Guitars”
2)”Our Velocity” [Video above]
3)”Books From Boxes”
4)”Russian Literature”
5)”Karaoke Plays”
6)”Your Urge”
7)”The Unshockable”
8)”By The Monument”
10)”A Fortnight’s Time”
11)”Sandblasted And Set Free”
12)”Parisian Skies”


Sources are telling me that Dntel‘s debut Sub Pop release Dumb Luck leaked this evening.

Sometimes, for good reasons, Jimmy Tamborello likes to take his time. Thirteen years after starting to work under the Dntel moniker and almost six years after releasing his last Dntel full-length, Life is Full of Possibilities (Plug Research), Tamborello has painstakingly built and birthed Dumb Luck, an album five years in the making. Click here to view the rest of the story on the Sub Pop site.

The official release date of the Dumb Luck is April 24.

1. Dumb Luck
2. To a Fault
3. I’d Like to Know
4. Roll On
5. The Distance
6. Rock My Boat
7. Natural Resources
8. Breakfast in Bed
9. Dreams

Well, those of us brave enough to stay home and shun all social interaction were treated to a glimpse of Tweedy-topia this evening with a special ‘semi-secret’ preview of Wilco’s newest effort, Sky Blue Sky. After blistering our index fingers from repeated refresh clicks, the quicktime plugin finally appeared and we were treated to a surprisingly high quality stream of SBS.

Anyone expecting band commentary or ‘extra’ features was instantly disappointed as this was a music-only affair. However, if you had AIM installed you could join other fans in the appropriately named chat room, ‘skybluesky’. As of 2:45 AM EST the player was still available, though there’s been no mention as to how long it’ll stick around other than a vague reference to ‘the wee hours’. [Sorry boys and girls, looks like the player is gone – Sean]

There’s been much speculation as to why the band chose to stream the album so far in advance of it’s release – especially in light of the recent suspension of certain blogs for posting advance tracks – with many guessing they’re simply attempting to preempt the inevitable leaks. Of course, given Jeff Tweedy’s previously stated opinion on music distribution, it’s entirely possible he’d just prefer we get it directly from the source.

On initial listen, the album seems to have a far more mellow direction than the band’s previous efforts. Gone is the experimentalism of ‘Yankee Hotel Foxtrot’ and the…well, fun weirdness of ‘A Ghost is Born’. In their place – for the most part – is a more straight-forward sound with simpler arrangements. Shades of Wings & dare I say, David Bowie are sprinkled throughout and Tweedy’s voice has a slightly rougher, world-weary flavor to it. Standout tracks so far seem to be ‘Hate it Here’, ‘Walken’ & ‘You Are My Face’, though ask me tomorrow and I may give you a different answer.

So now onto the all-important question – what did you think? How many of you stalled your Saturday night party plans for a sneak peak? Feel free to let us know.

Kaiser Chiefs’ first album Employment was an incredibly successful debut. The sophmore effort from the Leeds quintet, Yours Truly Angry Mob, will release across the pond on March 1. We’ll have to wait a few more weeks for it here in the States though (March 26).

Their energy-drenched first single “Ruby” (which reminds me a little of Donnie Iris’ “Ah, Leah”) paves the way for the other 12 pop anthems. Here’s the track listing:

1. Ruby
2. Angry Mob
3. Heat Dies Down
4. Highroyds
5. Love’s Not A Competition (But I’m Winning)
6. Thank You Very Much
7. I Can Do It Without You
8. My Kind Of Guy
9. Everything Is Average Nowadays
10. Boxing Champ
11. Learnt My Lesson Well
12. Try Your Best
13. Retirement

I’ve liked everything I’ve heard from Fields to date, so you can imagine my excitement when I found their debut leaked. I haven’t fully digested it yet, but what I’ve heard is really good. If you’re not familiar with the band (and you should be, cos this song was in the player months ago), check out their video for “If You Fail We All Fail”

The critically acclaimed band’s debut album Everything Last Winter, will be released April 2nd. The first single, “Charming The Flames” releases one week earlier on March 26th.

Song For The Fields
Charming The Flames
You Don’t Need This Song (To Fix Your Broken Heart)
The Death
You Brought This On Yourself
Skulls And Flesh And More
If You Fail, We All Fail

I don’t know if I’m properly using the term “leak” correctly or not, but any time an album that I don’t receive directly as an advance from the label reaches my ears before I can buy it…I consider it a leak. Tonight, the new Modest Mouse album We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank joined the list of albums that are available for previewing before their release date.

I’ve had a million conversations about this topic and the fact remains that if a band puts out a quality album, I’m going to buy it regardless of the fact that it’s on my iPod. I’m a sucker for the complete package…I can’t help but wonder if I’m the minority where that’s concerned though.

01. March Into the Sea
02. Dashboard
03. Fire It Up
04. Florida
05. Parting of the Sensory
06. Missed the Boat
07. We’ve Got Everything
08. Fly Trapped in a Jar
09. Education
10. Little Motel
11. Steam Engenius
12. Spitting Venom
13. People as Places as People
14. Invisible

Kip’s curious: If you find an album online before its release date, do you still buy it when it’s released if it’s good?

I just wanted to shout out to KEXP Blog for helping Rock Sellout dramatically increase site traffic the past couple of days. Thanks folks, very much appreciated!

To show my appreciation for their efforts, I’ve posted an ad in the Rock Sellout Supporters section.

Speaking of supporters, our friends over at The Yellow Stereo have posted a Valentine’s Day Mix as well as some other goodies for you. Check it out!

Album Leaks: It looks like the new Kings Of Leon album has leaked.

Next Page »